Reader Response

Reader Response

February 27, 2014

The Price of Admission

Tim Ponder’s article, “How Much Do the Games Cost?” (Jan. 23, 2014), was great. I feel the need to enlarge on some of the issues mentioned.

A person watching games like that is giving tacit approval to something Ellen White stated that Satan invented, as well as to the unconscionable salaries paid to some of the players. My February 2, 2014 newspaper stated that Percy Harvin, a leading player for the Seattle Seahawks, had signed a six-year contract that guaranteed $25 million, but could give him up to $67 million.

It also gives tacit approval to the often scantily clad cheerleaders and to the many hours it takes to watch a game. George Knight stated in his book Myths in Adventism, “Spectatorism is one of the most serious diseases of modern society” and is “the antithesis of Christian concern and action” (p. 225).

For a number of years I have noted in the Review, either in articles or letters to the editor, mention of favorite teams or sports. Are these the things that should be taking up the time and thoughts of the followers of Jesus? In the book Fundamentals of Christian Education is this statement, “I cannot find an instance in the life of Christ where He devoted time to play and amusement. He was the great Educator for the present and the future life” (p. 229). Ellen White recognized the propriety of play for children. We have to study her writings to find the proper balance for all of us on this issue.

–Donald E.Casebolt
College Place, Washington

As I read Wilona Karimabadi’s editorial, “Of Faith and Football” (Jan. 23, 2014), it seemed to condone the watching of football, which I had not been able to do for years in good conscience, because of the brutality.

Tim Ponder’s article revived my faith in the Review.

–Cyril G. Hartman
Reaching the World

As chairman of the board for Instituto de Disseminação do Evangelho (Gospel Outreach for Brazil), I was happy to read “Into All The World” by Kevin Waite (Jan. 23, 2014).

I fell in love with this organization and its volunteers, during my summers in College Place, Washington. I’ve tried to translate some materials in Portuguese for Brazil, was a member of the board for a while, and am now helping the United States and Canada to reach nearly 3 billion people in the 10/40 window who don’t know Jesus.

As General Conference President Ted N. C. Wilson said, these national workers know the language and the culture and can start immediately sharing the gospel in their countries. India has about 500 indigenous workers and has become one of the largest countries in membership.

IDE-GO Brazil is also reaching Portuguese-speaking countries in Africa and un-entered areas of the Amazon region. The General Conference and the South American Division are supporting this ministry and we pray, like India, that we can reach many families with the gospel of Jesus Christ.

As Dan Preas, Gospel Outreach president said 75 percent of the baptisms in many areas of the 10/40 window are credited to the 2,000 Bible workers of Gospel Outreach.

–Leo Ranzolin
Estero, Florida

Crusading for Casual

Regarding “Evangelism, Development Highlight 2014 GYC Event” (Jan. 23, 2014): It was refreshing to read about the 2014 GYC Event. It was not refreshing to see photos of our top leaders, namely General Conference President Ted Wilson and Review editor Bill Knott, attired in their usual shirt and tie. That is so old school.

We have to “lighten up” when dealing with young people. Our church focuses a lot of attention on retaining our youth. This would be a great jumping off place to think casual when addressing youth conventions such as the 2014 GYC Event.

–Roberta Hudson Strachan

Labels

Chris Blake’s article, “In Christ There Is Neither Conservative nor Liberal” (Jan. 16, 2014), was much appreciated.

It seems that sometimes we are labeled as both, depending on who is doing the labeling. Some would label us “legalistic” because we keep the Sabbath (that’s even worse than “conservative”). Some Adventists label me a “liberal” because I eat fish once in a while. Or because I do some other little thing they think is sinful because they don’t do it.

I see no difference in labeling or judging. And we all know what Jesus said about judging (Matt. 7:1-5)! He had more to say about that than He did about some other sins. Jesus told us to love others, even our enemies, and not to judge them.

Maybe more of our young people would stay in the church if there was more love instead of criticism. Maybe if we loved everyone in our churches and judged no one, regardless of their background or past failures, Jesus would come sooner. Maybe.

–Pauline Pierson
Collegedale, Tennessee

Regarding “In Christ There Is Neither Conservative nor Liberal” (Jan. 16, 2014): What an article!

It reminded me of an interview I had for a pastoral district about 15 years ago. I was asked, “Are you a liberal or a conservative?”

I replied, “I’m a progressive. I believe in making progress toward a goal.”

That seemed to satisfy the questioner and I got the call.

Now the word “progressive” seems to have a bad connotation in political circles, and I don’t know why.

–Ertis L. Johnson
Elk City, Oklahoma

Positive Message

“Going Somewhere” (Dec. 26, 2013) struck a cord with me because I, too, had a grandmother who was diagnosed with dementia. She passed in 2001. The experiences described echoed my own. Those experiences affect us and change us, and I’m glad Kimberly Luste Maran able to derive a positive message from such an experience.

–Kendall Beaman
Stone Mountain, Georgia