Reader Response

Reader Response

January 24, 2014

Greet Unto Others

Regarding the editorial “Visiting Churches—the Flip Side” (Jan. 9, 2014): How sad that church members have to be prompted about how to greet others when visiting a church. Like probably too many others, when visiting churches in different parts of the country with my husband (who is not an Adventist), I have had to locate the greeter and request a bulletin.

I’m a fairly outgoing person, so this was a bit awkward, but not devastating. Please be aware that it can take a lot of courage for some people to visit a church; it may be even more difficult to visit a new church if they are alone.

Many visitors are not Adventists. How they are greeted and regarded as they enter the church may be the deciding factor in whether or not they return. All visitors deserve to be greeted at the door, made to feel welcome, given a bulletin, and directed to sanctuary, Sabbath school classes, restrooms, etc.).

–Carol Iram
Woburn, Massachusetts

God Is in Charge

As a long-time reader of Adventist Review, I was blessed by Shawn Boonstra’s article “2013: The Year of Reversing the Tide” (Dec. 26, 2013). I agree with the author that we have become accustomed to and desensitized to the horrors that happen in the world seemingly every day. We have been programmed to flip from one disaster to the next without placing these events in any end-time context.

Containing a litany of tragedies and losses occurring this past year, the article helps the reader make sense of it all and realize, “Yes, God is still in charge.”

Boonstra’s writing is important for all Seventh-day Adventists, particularly teachers and pastors. Anyone who ignores today’s trends does so at their own peril.

As someone who follows news events closely, I am grateful to Boonstra and the Review for these thoughtful insights.

–Tom Ballard
Woodbine, Maryland

Amazing and Inspiring

My heart sings every time I open the latest issue of Adventist Review. It shines such a beautiful light on the amazing and inspiring work God is doing through His faithful servants in so many corners of the world. Thank you for the role that you play in this wonderful ministry.

–Julian Archer
Australia

Our Children, and God’s

Thank you for publishing “A Parent’s Journey” (Dec. 26, 2013). Over the years I’ve known countless individuals who have experienced the heartbreak of having one or more of their children turn away from the path they had planned for them.

We have to believe that God knows the hearts of our children, and that in His time He will heal their brokenness and accomplish His will in their lives.

On a related note: I’ve seen some of my friends be wracked with guilt when their children stopped attending church, or began attending some non-Adventist church. Again, the God who reads hearts and motives will surely not abandon those who Christ died to save.

God can be trusted to lead our children. Let’s not do anything to add to the guilt of parents who did the best they could to raise their children to follow Christ.

–Homer Rutherford
North Sacramento, California

A Familiar Face

I enjoy Andrew McChesney’s Dateline Moscowarticles. He writes in an interesting, down-to-earth style I can relate to. On Sabbath afternoon I read his article “Fumigate the Cockroaches Before 2014” (Dec. 26, 2013), and decided I should express my appreciation. That evening on the national news I noticed someone who looked familiar. Sure enough, it was Andrew McChesney commenting on the upcoming Sochi Winter Olympics.

–Jean Dickerson
Lansing, Michigan

Encouraged

It was encouraging to read the editorial by Justin McNeilus “And it Was Good” (Dec. 26, 2013). Yes, youth and young adults will be there to see the work finished. May we uphold them in prayer and encouragement that they remain faithful in their commitment to serve the Lord with heart, mind, and soul.

–Natalie Dodd
Centerville, Ohio

New Believer: Thanks

I just read the editorial “Go Ask Erica” (Nov. 21, 2013), and wanted you to know how much this brand new Adventist has appreciated this free subscription for the past year.

I have been a member since December 2012, and plan to stay with this new “family” of mine. The information the magazine provides has helped me grow and learn, and is a wonderful addition to Bible studies, Sabbath school, and weekly attendance at services.

My thanks to anyone who donated to the New Believer plan.

–Lori Pyeatt
Swartz Creek, Michigan