Subscribe here for $19.95 per year or try 6 months for $9.95
Share on facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on twitter Share on email More Sharing Services 525
Reader Response

Reader Response

April 8, 2015

Three Spirit-led Articles

Praise the Lord for these three Holy Spirit-led articles that were printed earlier this year: Andy Nash’s “This World Is . . . Actually Our Home” (Jan. 22, 2015); Stephen Chavez’s “Body Talk” (Feb. 19, 2015); and Nathan Brown’s “A (Missed?) Moment of Spiritual Possibility” (Feb. 26, 2015).

Amen, and thank you!

Zally Schulstad, Phoenix, Arizona

Growing in Christ

I appreciated Nathan Brown’s article “A (Missed?) Moment of Spiritual Possibility” (Feb. 26), which focuses on Fundamental Belief 11, Growing in Christ, and specifically mentions Ellen G. White’s wonderful book Steps to Christ! This is the book, after the Bible, that I’ve carried with me, on all my travels, for my personal devotions. I have read it dozens of times, and done my own color marking, focusing on the love of God, the sacrifice of Jesus, and the sinner’s need of Christ. I have also put a date and place where I read it. During a crisis in one of the countries overseas it was the Bible and Steps to Christ that brought me peace and carried me through!

I was in St. Louis in 2005 when the belief was voted, and, as Brown writes, this was “the first time in the history of our church in which the transformative experience and practice of our faith was formalized in a statement of belief.” This is the book that every Adventist should read often—and also give to fellow neighbors.

Leo Ranzolin, Sr., Estero, Florida

A Demeaning Line

I’m writing in regard to the obituary on Dolores E. Slikkers, printed in the February 26, 2015, Adventist Review. To suggest that alcohol could have been involved in the fatal accident of Dolores Slikkers is demeaning.

K. H. Piekarek, via e-mail

The reference to alcohol had to do with the other driver, not Dolores Slikkers. Read an extended version of the article at http://www.adventistreview.org/church-news/dolores-e.-slikkers,-maranatha-co-founder-who-shaped-adventist-policy,-killed-in-car-crash.

Editors.

What About Online Schooling?

I’m writing in regard to Robert E. Lemon’s news commentary “Threatened Closure of Adventist Academy Serves as Wake-up Call” (Feb. 19, 2015). Maybe it’s time to use it as a test for online schooling. Instead of putting money into a physical plant, how about putting funds into computers for the students and let them learn from home? With technology as it is today, let us embrace it and use our funds more economically.

Through video conferencing—Skype, for example—and other technologies, students can be educated at home and save immense amounts of funds. What a legacy we could give to our children, to graduate without so much debt.

Students can learn year-round, and graduate earlier if they desire. The cost could be reduced, and more students would be able to enjoy a Christian education. All the students in that class would show up on the screen, so each student would know who was in class. The teacher would see each student. All could discuss, just as they could sitting in a classroom.

For hands-on classes, such as auto mechanics and biology, there are virtual programs that will do the job. On the same note, I wonder if our churches should go in the same direction. Church at home through Skype.

Ronald Issler, Lucerne Valley, California

Two Ahmeds, Two Touching Stories

There were inspiring stories about two different individuals with the name “Ahmed” in two successive Reviews (Feb. 12 and 19, 2015).In the February 12 issue Keith Augustus Burton mentions that when gunmen invaded the offices of Charlie Hebdo, one of the officers killed was Ahmed Merabet, a Muslim—a man who prayed to Allah the same way the killer did. Ahmed chose a profession in which he could protect others instead of destroying them. The author then added, “In Ahmed we are reminded that all Muslims are not terrorists.” I concur whole heartily with this statement because of past experiences in my life with benevolent Muslim people.

In the February 19 issue Jill Morikone shares a moving experience that took place during a trip in Israel (see her article “Ahmed”). Ahmed, the bus driver, bought a hand-painted spoon rest for Morikone. At her surprised, questioning look he said, “It’s a gift for you.” Morikone was touched to tears (and so was I). She writes how a friendship develops between the Morikones and driver Ahmed, the father of six children.

Thank you for publishing those two eye-opening articles. Everyone should read them and be enlightened!

Laurice Kafrouni Durrant, Keene, Texas

Enrollment Percentages

In reading Andrew McChesney’s article “W. Augustus Cheatham, Former Vice President of Loma Linda University, Dies of Brain Cancer” (Feb. 12, 2015), I noticed the following statement: “During that time enrollment increased 160 percent, from 110 to 285 students.”

It occurs to me that enrollment must have increased 260 percent rather than 160 percent. Is that true?

By the way, I enjoyed the article.

Cleon White, Berrien Springs, Michigan

Thanks for your query. Actually, the percent of enrollment increase given is correct. Simply explained: The enrollment doubled (from 110 to 220); that is a 100 percent increase. The 65 students beyond that, which make up the total of 285 students, adds a 60 percent increase to the original amount, bringing the total enrollment percent increase to 160.—Editors.

Rare Photo, Personal Story

The rare photo shown on page 8 of the January 8, 2015, Review comes to life for me with a personal story. When my grandmother was a little girl, she saw Ellen White at a camp meeting. She decided to get real close to this special woman by following her from behind (White was walking arm-in-arm with her son). She heard White say something like “Willie, slow down; I cannot walk so fast.”

My grandmother, years later, suggested that my name should be Ellen, after Ellen White.

Ellen Christman,Pearl City, Hawaii


Your Turn

We welcome your letters, noting, as always, that inclusion of a letter in this section does not imply that the ideas expressed are endorsed by either the editors of the Adventist Review or the General Conference. Short, specific, timely letters have the best chance at being published (please include your complete address and phone number—even with e-mail messages). Letters will be edited for space and clarity only. Send correspondence to Letters to the Editor, Adventist Review, 12501 Old Columbia Pike, Silver Spring, MD 20904-6600; Internet: letters@adventistreview.org.