Read What People are Saying About the New Adventist Review
Reader Response

Reader Response

November 11, 2015

Andrews Seeks New President

Thank you for publishing Andrew McChesney’s article on Niels-Erik Andreasen (see “Andrews Seeks New President,” October 2015). My thanks to Andreasen for his leadership, his graceful and charming manner, and his self-effacing humor, wisdom, and warmth. I will miss him.

James J. North, Jr.
Berrien Springs, Michigan

Jesus Outside Scripture

Andy Nash’s article “Jesus Outside Scripture” (September 2015) reminded me of my own discovery while studying for my B.A. honors degree from the University of London, England, which required a knowledge of history from ancient to modern times. In secular literature were references to Jesus of Nazareth by Josephus, a Roman Jew, and others.

We can rest assured that the Jesus of the Bible was a real, historic human being.

Linbrook Barker
Riverside, California

White Estate Releases Letters and Manuscripts

Regarding Andrew McChesney’s article “Ellen G. White Letters and Manuscripts Released” (September 2015), it is exciting to see the White Estate do this. Now we can verify books that have been written about Ellen G. White or characters that she addressed. It will be interesting to see if there will be any “mea culpas” resulting from this. I strongly encourage the inclusion of this material in the app.

Ricky Kearns
Walla Walla, Washington

Glory to God for the release of the unpublished and published materials of Ellen G. White and other Adventist pioneers on the White Estate Web site. You have spiritually blessed me and other countless brothers and sisters the world over who, in the past, had limited or no access to the testimony of Jesus Christ. The materials are classic gems with measureless spiritual nourishment.

Lewis Lubungo
via e-mail

I welcome this latest news from the Ellen G. White Estate. Laypeople shouldn’t have to invest a large sum of money to do serious research and glean biblical and spiritual insights from this remarkable Christian woman. Ellen G. White has shaped and influenced my views and remains one of my favorite Adventist authors. I may not be in full agreement with her, but she continues to play an important and significant role in the Seventh-day Adventist Church and the world. The release of her letters and manuscripts on the anniversary of her death is a fitting tribute to a woman who claimed to be God’s messenger and has led countless thousands to the Messiah.

James N. Benko
via e-mail

Church to Restudy Biblical Principles

I read with interest Marcos Paseggi’s short article “Church to Restudy Biblical Principles of Interpretation” ( GC Bulletin, July 11, 2015). Intrigued by his two short Ellen White quotes, I turned to the full passage, which, in part, says: “Christ prayed that His disciples might be one. . . . In what does this unity consist? That oneness does not consist in everyone having the same disposition, the very same temperament, that makes all run in the very same channel. . . . All have not the same experience. . . . We cannot then take a position that the unity of the church consists in viewing every text of Scripture in the very same shade of light.

“The church may pass resolution upon resolution to put down all disagreement of opinions, but we cannot force the mind and will, and thus root out disagreement. These resolutions may conceal the discord but they cannot quench it and establish a perfect agreement. Nothing can perfect a perfect unity in the church but the spirit of Christlike forbearance” ( Manuscript Releases, vol. 15, pp. 149, 150).

This passage perfectly addresses many issues arising at the sixtieth General Conference session. Rather than attempting ever-greater precision in statements of our fundamental beliefs (creed?) and in biblical interpretations, should we not allow for some individual freedom in interpretation because of our individual, unique backgrounds, experiences, and temperaments?

Conrad D. Clausen
Loma Linda, California

The Stories We Tell

I’m writing in regard to Bill Knott’s editorial “The Stories We Tell” (June 2015).

Indeed, we all have stories to tell. Often they tend to support what we already believe or would like to see happen. Listening is a better way to learn than continuing to repeat our own stories to others, especially listening to God in His Word. In view of the current divisions in the church over issues that often tend to reflect our own stories rather than listening closely to God’s Word, the call to listen is timely.

This appeal from Knott reminds one of Ellen White’s statement that “God has not passed His people by and chosen one solitary man here and another there as the only ones worthy to be entrusted with His truth. He does not give one man new light contrary to the established faith of the body. . . . Let none be self-confident, as though God had given them special light above their brethren. Christ is represented as dwelling in His people. Believers are represented as built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ Himself being the chief Cornerstone’ ” ( Testimonies for the Church, vol. 5, p. 291).

Edwin Reynolds
Ooltewah, Tennessee

Correction: Not a Badge Scanner

On page 5 of GC Bulletin 7 (July 10, 2015) you have a photo of an IT person working the booth. The caption states, “Seated in front of the stage, a member of the IT team scans badges for delegates who wish to speak.” This person is not a badge scanner, she is an IT team member. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sarah M. Porter
via e-mail

New Format

Please put me in the pro column: I like the new format. Four issues a month could get a little overwhelming; and the new size will be easier to take along when I need something to read while waiting in waiting rooms.

I hope you keep the Clifford Goldstein and Dixil Rodríguez columns. Many others I enjoy, but these are my favorites.

Rosalee Kellum
Battle Creek, Michigan

While I agree greatly with what readers have written you about the new Review, and don’t want you to revert to the old weekly one, when I received my first copy of the new one, the very first thing I thought of was Why do they use such small print? It was difficult to read most of it, and some of the endnotes were impossible to read without a magnifying glass. For example, how do you expect anyone to read the whole column of Review staff on page 2 of the first issue (April 2015)?

I’ve been a dedicated subscriber/reader of the Adventist Review for decades and will continue to be one.

Charles H. Tidwell, Sr.
Collegedale, Tennessee


In our September edition, the internet speed provided for Pacific Union College was not accurate. PUC would like readers to know it has 1,000 Mbps available to the dorms —Editors.

Your Turn

We welcome your letters, noting, as always, that inclusion of a letter in this section does not imply that the ideas expressed are endorsed by either the editors of the Adventist Review or the General Conference. Short, specific, timely letters have the best chance at being published (please include your complete address and phone number—even with e-mail messages). Letters will be edited for space and clarity only. Send correspondence to Letters to the Editor, Adventist Review, 12501 Old Columbia Pike, Silver Spring, MD 20904-6600; Internet: